Breaking: NDC’s Alban Bagbin Beats Mike Ocquaye to Become Next Speaker Of Parliament

Breaking: NDC’s Alban Bagbin Beats Mike Ocquaye to Become Next Speaker Of Parliament

Breaking: NDC’s Alban Bagbin Beats Mike Ocquaye to Become Next Speaker Of Parliament

MP for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency and deputy speaker of parliament Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin has emerged as the winner of the parliamentary ballot to elect a speaker for the 8th Parliament.

Mr. Mike Ocquaye polled 136 votes for the NPP while Mr. Alban Bagbin polled 138 votes for the NDC with 1 spoilt ballot recorded. The is the first time in the history of the 4th republic that a minority member has taken up the position of Speaker of Parliament.

Currently, both parties have 137 seats each in Parliament, with an Independent Candidate who has chosen to sit on the side of the NPP.

On Tuesday, the leadership of the NDC had instructed their members to address them as the majority side in Parliament.

The results of the elections are yet to be pronounced in parliament.

Meanwhile, Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah, the Member of Parliament-elect for Tema West snatched a ballot sheet during counting.

After the counting of votes for Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye was done, the MP-elect snatched the ballot paper from the Clerk and bolted with it.

Prior to the snatching of the ballot sheet, the NDC members were singing and jubilating that their candidate Alban Bagbin had won the secret votes.

He was chased by Asawase MP-elect Muntaka Mohammed who accosted him and retrieved the ballot papers.

Read Also:

Born on September 24, 1957, at Sombo in the Upper West Region, Hon. Bagbin is a graduate of the University of Ghana (1977-1980) and the Ghana School of Law (1980 -1982).

He holds an Executive Masters in Governance and Leadership from the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA).

The MP for Nadowli Kaleo and former Majority Leader started schooling at an early age at the Roman Catholic Primary School, Sombo, did his second cycle education at Wa Secondary School and ended at the Tamale Secondary School, where he earned his Ordinary Level and Advanced Level certificates before entering the University of Ghana in 1977.

From 1980 to 1982, he worked at the Bureau of Statistics and Statistical Service as the acting Secretary to the Statistical Service Board while between 1982 and 1983; he worked as Personnel Manager of the erstwhile State Hotels Corporation.

Mr. Bagbin practised as a private legal practitioner in the Akyem Chambers, a firm of legal practitioners, consultants and notaries public, as a partner.

He is currently the longest-serving member of parliament, having served since 1993 when the first parliament under the 4th Republic was inaugurated.

He has held a number of positions in Parliament since 1994 and capped his law making a career with the ultimate, the Majority Leader and Leader of the House.

In the first Parliament of the Fourth Republic, he was made the Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Subsidiary Legislation and Vice Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Mines and Energy and Member of the Committee on Local Government and Rural Development.

In the Second Parliament of the Fourth Republic, Mr. Bagbin was the Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs with oversight responsibilities for the Commission of Human Rights and Administrative Justice, Electoral Commission, National Commission on Civic Education, Office of Parliament and Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

He was also the chairman of the Public Accounts Committee from 2001 to 2005.

He was also the Vice-Chairman of the Appointments Committee of Parliament.

He did not run again for Parliament in the 2020 elections.