Interior Minister inaugurates Earthquake Disaster Response Committee

Interior Minister inaugurates Earthquake Disaster Response Committee

The Minister for the Interior, Ambrose Dery, has inaugurated a 10-member committee to develop a comprehensive framework for refocusing national earthquake preparedness and response. The Committee is expected to submit its report within a month.

The committee is to assess the minimization of earthquake risk in the country. Addressing journalists, the Minister, recalled the recent earth tremors with magnitudes ranging between 2.6 and 3.9 (on the Richter scale) that hit parts of Accra describing it as ‘quite worrying’ and a warning signal to a major earthquake.

“These occurrences are quite worrying because experts say that such tremors may be a warning signal to a major earthquake event,” he noted.

Ambrose Dery explained that in consonance with the President’s commitment to ensuring that Ghanaians feel safe and secure, he has directed the constitution of such committee to address the situation in the shortest possible time.

He noted that since the tremor occurred, the National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO) has been working with other stakeholders to ensure that the nation gets the capabilities and capacity to respond to any major earthquake.

The task of the committee includes identifying and outlining key measures that must be undertaken to empower communities to prepare, to be resilient towards a reduction of seismic risk, to outline other response measures required by stakeholders or agencies in the event of an earthquake.

It also includes evaluating the capacities of relevant bodies mandated with national response to identify resource gaps and recommend measures to augment the capabilities towards effective response and determine the kind of International support that may be required.

The Minister urged the committee to be resilient in performing the task ahead with all professionalism and come out with the best recommendations that would address the earthquake problem.

The Chairperson of the Committee, Ing. Carlien Bou-Chedid of the Ghana Institute of Engineers and Surveyors remarked that “We thank the President for imposing such a task on us to come out with something that will help the nation anytime earthquake hit the country,” she stressed.

She agreed that the committee would work assiduously with every sector and agencies to recommend the best in minimizing earthquake risk for the country.

Other members of the committee include

  1. Hon Eric Nana Agyemang-Prempeh- member


  1. Mr. Joseph Ankrah- member


  1. Mr. Nicholas Opoku- member


  1. ACP George Tweneboah- member


  1. Mr. Julius Kuunuor- member


  1. Mr. Benedict Arhjurst- member


  1. Dr. Lawrence Ofori-Boadu- member


  1. Prof. Ahmed Nuhu Zakariah- member and


  1. Col. M. Mustapha- member


Source: Nii Aflah Sackey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by