2022 Ramadan Cup launched, GFA to support competition

2022 ramadan cup launched gfa to support competition
Ramadan Cup

The Ghana Football Association have promised to provide footballs and supply match officials for the 2022 Sheikh Sharubutu Ramadan Cup to be held at the Fadama Astro Turf park.

With the growing numbers of communities participating in the event on May 8-9, the football governing body finds it imperative to join forces with the organizers for the community football games at the launch on Tuesday at the Kempinski hotel.

4 communities have been added for this year’s event as the total number of participants is 28 across the country.

“This is one of the platforms the GFA really cherish. We assure the organisation of our support and in saying that, we will support with a number of footballs, brand new ones,” GFA General Secretary, Prosper Harrison Addo told the press.

“We would also support with officiating so the referees you will see will be coming from the Ghana Football Association,”.

With just eight teams in its first edition seven years ago, the annual football competition has seen a massive increase in Zongo Communities who have shown interest in showcasing themselves at the Games.

Tournament organizer, Tamimu Issah exclusively told JoySports that, it is their aim to make the Ramadan Cup a national event.

“There is Zongo in every corner of the country so our vision by the grace of Allah is to be able to one day do this event nationwide so that we have a representation from all the 16 regions,” Issah said.

The purpose is to bring Zongo Communities in Ghana together and honour the National Chief Imam. It is also to ensure a sense of discipline in the youth to wipe out the negative perception about Zongo.

Preliminary Round Pairings

1. Anyaa Zongo vrs Cowlane
2. Ashale Botwe vrs Tudu
3. Oda Zongo vrs Darkuman
4. Nsawam Zongo vrs Accra New Town
5. Akropong Zongo vrs Fadama
6. Adabraka vrs Maamobi
7. Tema Zongo vrs Kasoa
8. Alajo vrs Nungua Zongo
9. Takoradi vrs Nima
10. Tunga vrs Koforidua Zongo
11. Suhum Zongo vrs Hohoe Zongo
12. Yendi vrs Ashaiman
13. Abeka vrs Madina
14. Shukura vrs Sabon Zongo

Visit Our Social Media for More