B/A NPP Ignored Court Injunction To Elects New Executives

The Brong Ahafo regional branch of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Sunday shunned regional Electoral Commission officers and also ignored court injunction to elect new executives to manage the party in the region.

The Electoral Commission officers did not show up to the venue after the EC stated it has been served an injunction on the election.

The Atebubu Amantin NPP secured an injunction on the elections at a High Court at Wenchi in the region,pending a court hearing on the constituency’s disputed elections.

Tight security were been installed at the Pastoral Centre in Sunyani where the elections was held.

After hours of negotiations, the 29 constituency chairmen of the Party in the Region agreed to signed an undertaken to continue with the elections at the Pastoral Centre in Sunyani despite the EC’s absence,

The party then constituted an election body, comprising the election committee and Constituency chairmen to supervise the exercise with a lawyer, Alfred Tuah Yeboah, serving as the Returning officer.

Though the Regional Electoral Commission (EC) failed to conduct and supervise the election, the Election Committee of the Party set-up its internal EC to conduct the election by using plastic containers and cardboard boxes as makeshift ballot boxes.

At least 31 active members of the party contested for the various regional executive positions.

The positions contested by the 31 candidates were regional chairmanship, first and second vice chairman, Secretary and deputy, organiser, Youth organiser and deputy, Woman Organizer, Treasurer and Nasara Coordinator.

Over 600 delegates participated in the voting exercise from 29 constituencies in the Region.

ALSO READ:  Kenyan court scraps presidential vote, Kenyatta pledges to return to polls

Results of NPP B/A Regional Elections
Dr Charles Addo….10
Francis Opoku Sarfo … 266
Thomas Adu Appiah…282
Patrick Peprah Appiah Agyei ….28
Dabie Appiah Mensah…13
Shaibu Bamba……15
Dr Emmanuel Opoku Marfo….93
Kwame Baffoe….407
Mensah Joseph….285
Owusu Banahene Justina…. 271
Kofi Ofosu Boateng …297
David Boakye ….179
John Nketsiah ….82
Asare Baffour….297
Clement Bonsu…40
Mohammed Baba Gausu …218
Justice Appiah Antwi…151
Alhaji Issaka Issa …405
Konlaabig Rasheed(unopposed)
Doris Asomah …229
Patience Tettey…..85
Mrs Dorothy Amponsah….239
Abdul Razack…..167
Eugene Kusi Boakye…21
Richard Adu…..12
Kwain Bonse Isaac….17
Michael Osei Boateng…337
Benkae Kwame Isaac…4
Kassim Siaka ….93
Amadu Bermah Suleman…..208
Alhaji Adam Mohammed… 266

قالب وردپرس



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *